Cost & Budget
Managed Event Staffing Agency vs Gig Staffing App: Cost Components for a 100-Person Event
A gig staffing app and a managed event staffing agency can both put ten people at a 100-guest reception for eight hours. What they charge for is different, and the hourly figure on the screen is the least comparable part. An agency's published rate is loaded: TempGuru's city rates include worker pay, employer payroll taxes, workers' compensation, general liability, coordination and the partner agency's markup, with a four-hour minimum per shift. A platform's price is the pay rate you set plus its service charge, with the employer costs, insurance, minimums and cancellation terms attached according to the engagement model and the market. This guide lists the eleven components that belong in the comparison, fills in TempGuru's side from its published Chicago rates, and fills in the platform side only from what Instawork and Qwick publish, with each statement dated. Where a figure is not published on a platform's current pages, the line says "current quote required" rather than guessing.
01 / 11
The two models compared
A managed agency order has an employer of record and a written scope. In TempGuru's US model the vetted local partner agency assigned to the event employs and pays the crew as W-2 employees and handles payroll, withholding, unemployment insurance, workers' compensation and employment records; TempGuru owns client contracting and billing, partner-agency assignment, order communication, scheduling coordination and replacement coordination. Rates are published by city, the shift minimum is four hours, and the written quote lists the approved event-specific charges before you confirm. Replacement is coordinated on a best-effort basis; no named or onsite coordinator is included unless the accepted order says so.
A gig platform is a marketplace with an engagement model that varies. Instawork describes itself as a staffing platform connecting businesses with hourly workers for one-time shifts, set schedules or seasonal coverage; you post a shift, set the hourly rate, and are matched with vetted workers; its page states that the engagement can be 1099 or W-2 "depending on the market and role" (instawork.com/how-it-works, read September 7, 2026). Qwick describes itself as a hospitality workforce platform with no contracts and no minimums, where businesses pay only when shifts are filled; it offers 1099 and W-2 hospitality professionals where available, with W-2 professionals employed by Labor Force Group, LLC, a Qwick subsidiary, and designates some jurisdictions as W-2 only (qwick.com and support.qwick.com articles 5647041 and 5643073, read September 7, 2026).
So "gig app" does not mean "1099". Both major platforms run both models. Employment model is one component in the comparison below, not the premise of it. For the service-model view (agency versus marketplace versus software), see /versus ; this page is the event-specific cost view.
02 / 11
Building the comparison: a 100-person, eight-hour event
The worked example is a 100-guest corporate reception in Chicago, one eight-hour day including setup and breakdown, staffed with ten people: two registration staff, four guest services and usher staff, three setup and general labor staff, and one team lead. That is 80 labor hours. The event has no alcohol service, no driving and no client-required background checks, so none of the conditional components apply; a real order adds them line by line.
TempGuru's side, from the Chicago guide (updated August 5, 2026):
| Line | Hours | Chicago planning range | Planning total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two registration staff | 16 | $34 to $40/hr | $544 to $640 |
| Four guest services and ushers | 32 | $34 to $40/hr | $1,088 to $1,280 |
| Three setup and general labor | 24 | $34 to $40/hr | $816 to $960 |
| One team lead | 8 | $44 to $50/hr | $352 to $400 |
| Planning total | 80 | $2,800 to $3,280 |
That total already contains worker pay, employer payroll taxes (FICA, FUTA and SUTA), workers' compensation, general liability, TempGuru coordination and the partner agency's markup. It is a planning scenario from published ranges, not a quote, and it excludes anything the written quote would list separately (see below). See the Chicago event staffing guide for the full table.
The platform side is a formula, not a total. On a platform the bill is the hourly pay you set for each worker, times the hours, plus the platform's charge. Instawork publishes the shape of that charge on its rate pages: the business bill rate is the worker's pay rate plus a markup of 20% to 65%, which it says covers payroll taxes, workers' compensation, insurance, compliance, administrative costs and service fees (instawork.com temp-work-rate pages, read September 7, 2026); its how-it-works page publishes no figure. Qwick's current business pages publish no percentage: its site states no contracts and no minimums, its support center says W-2 pricing depends on anticipated shift volume and needs, and a legacy help-center article still states a charge on 1099 shifts that the current surfaces do not repeat, so no Qwick figure is used here. For the worked example, the platform line is therefore the 80
labor hours at whatever pay rate you set, plus a markup inside Instawork's published range or Qwick's quoted charge, with the roster not like for like (a platform lists shifts by role, not a team lead). Current quote required for any total; neither figure here is an Instawork or Qwick quote.
03 / 11
The cost components that belong in the comparison
Every one of these exists in both models. The comparison is honest only when all eleven are on the sheet.
| Component | TempGuru (published) | Instawork (published, September 7, 2026) | Qwick (published, September 7, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Worker pay | Inside the city rate | You set the rate; included in your bill rate | You set the rate; 1099 and W-2 |
| 2. Employer payroll taxes | Inside the city rate (FICA, FUTA, SUTA) | Federal, state and local taxes stated as included in the hourly rate | Employment taxes paid by Qwick for W-2 professionals |
| 3. Workers' compensation or accident cover | Partner agency's workers' compensation, inside the rate | Workers' compensation on W-2 shifts; occupational accident insurance on 1099 roles where permitted | Workers' compensation for W-2 professionals; occupational accident insurance covering professionals on shift, funded by a $0.38 per hour fee charged to the professional (support center) |
| 4. General liability and certificate of insurance | Partner agency GL inside the rate; certificate on request for accepted orders | "Insurance for on-shift injuries or accidents" stated; certificate naming the client not stated | Not stated on the pages read |
| 5. Service charge, coordination, markup | Coordination and partner agency markup inside the rate | Bill rate is worker pay plus a 20% to 65% markup (rate pages); the how-it-works page publishes no figure: current quote required | No percentage on current business pages; no contracts or minimums stated; W-2 pricing varies with volume and needs: current quote required |
| 6. Background checks | Only when the client requires them; named in the order; can be separate | Stated as included in the rate | Homepage states every professional is background checked before a first shift; the support center describes checks as required for W-2 professionals and optional for 1099 professionals, and lets businesses post shifts that require a cleared check, with the related fees discussed through support |
| 7. Shift minimum | Four hours per shift; no minimum headcount or spend | Minimum shift hours may apply per account terms | "No contracts, no minimums" on the current site; "no minimum hours or fees" for the W-2 talent pool (support center) |
| 8. Cancellation | Cancellation fees can apply; identified in the written quote | Free cancellation with 24-hour notice | Not stated on the pages read; ask for the current cancellation terms |
| 9. Overtime, holiday and rush | Can be separate; identified in the written quote | Not stated | Not stated |
| 10. Replacement and no-show handling | TempGuru coordinates best-effort backfill with the partner agency | Paid backup workers for critical shifts; cancellation tracking; send an unqualified worker home at no charge for unused time | Not stated on the pages read |
| 11. Coordination and administration | TempGuru coordinates the order, scheduling and replacement; partner agency briefs workers; one invoice per city per week | Live support; dedicated account manager for larger programs; app clock-in; you approve hours; one consolidated invoice | Account manager for W-2 business partners; invoices viewable in the business account |
"Not stated" means the provider's pages read on the check date did not address the point; it is a question to ask, not a finding. Where a provider changes its published terms, this table is out of date, and the visible updated date on this page records the last check.
04 / 11
Quoted rate versus total cost
The quoted number answers different questions. A loaded agency rate answers "what does an hour of staffed, insured, employed labor cost me". A platform pay rate answers "what will the worker receive", with the charge, taxes and insurance layered on by the platform's terms. Put them on the same basis before comparing: pay plus charge plus anything the buyer adds (uniforms, parking, a lead, screening) on one side; the loaded rate plus the separately listed charges on the other.
The separate charges are where quotes drift. On a TempGuru order the candidates are overtime and holiday premiums, rush charges, parking and travel, uniforms, client-required background checks, minimum-shift charges, gratuities and cancellation fees, and the written quote names which apply before confirmation. On a platform, the equivalents are whatever the account terms and the shift posting attach. The staffing cost calculator models a TempGuru order with those inputs; use the same list when you build the platform side.
05 / 11
Employment model, and what varies by provider and market
Classification varies by provider, market and shift. Instawork offers 1099 and W-2 engagement depending on market and role; its help center, read September 1, 2026, states that W-2 workers are employed by Advantage Workforce Services, LLC, an Instawork affiliate. Qwick offers both where available, employs its W-2 professionals through Labor Force Group, LLC, and designates some jurisdictions as W-2 only. Qwick's two help-center articles currently list those jurisdictions differently (the business-facing article names four states; the professional-facing article, edited March 2026, names eleven jurisdictions), both live on September 7, 2026, so this page publishes no list; check Qwick's current pages for the market you are in.
TempGuru's model does not vary by market inside the United States. For every US order the assigned partner agency employs the crew as W-2 employees; TempGuru does not fill US client orders with 1099 gig workers. Canadian orders are staffed by workers employed locally under Canadian rules. The W-2 event staffing page sets out who owns payroll, withholding, unemployment insurance, workers' compensation and records. For US orders, workers are W-2 employees of the assigned partner agency. For Canadian orders, workers are employed locally by the assigned partner agency under applicable Canadian employment and payroll rules.
What it changes on the sheet. Employment model moves components 2, 3, 6 and 10 between the provider and the buyer's own review, and it changes what the certificate of insurance can name. It does not by itself make one model cheaper. Classification is a facts test under IRS and Department of Labor guidance, and the label a platform or agency uses is not the test; get legal advice for a specific concern. The independent contractor versus W-2 event staff guide covers the buyer's side.
06 / 11
Platform and service fees
Instawork publishes a markup range; Qwick's current pages publish no percentage. Instawork's rate pages state that the business bill rate is the worker's pay plus a 20% to 65% markup covering payroll taxes, workers' compensation, insurance, compliance, administration and service fees; its how-it-works page describes the structure (worker pay plus a service fee, no subscriptions, a card hold when a worker accepts and a charge after the shift) without a figure. Qwick's current site states no contracts, no minimums and payment only when shifts are filled; its support center says W-2 pricing depends on anticipated shift volume and is quoted; an older help-center article still states a percentage charge on 1099 shifts that the current surfaces do not repeat. When a provider's own pages differ, this guide publishes no figure. TempGuru has no separate service fee: coordination and the partner agency's markup sit inside the published city rate, which is why the two sides compare only once both are on the sheet as line 5.
07 / 11
Shift minimums and written replacement and escalation process
Minimums. TempGuru: four hours per shift, no minimum headcount, order value or spend. Instawork: minimum shift hours and cancellation policies may apply depending on account terms. Qwick: "no contracts, no minimums" on its current site, and "no minimum hours or fees" for its W-2 talent pool.
Fill. TempGuru publishes no companywide fill or coverage rate, by policy; the 24 to 48 hour window after scope and rates are approved is an availability response, not a roster guarantee. Instawork states that many common roles are filled within six hours and that paid backup workers are available for critical shifts. Qwick's current site states a 95% fill rate and an average fill time of about 30 minutes, without stating what the rate measures. Treat any fill figure as that provider's own statement and ask for its definition.
08 / 11
Insurance and employer responsibilities
Under TempGuru's model the employing partner agency carries the employer side. Workers' compensation and general liability are inside the published rate, the agency is responsible for providing current insurance evidence for the accepted US order, and a certificate of insurance is available on request. That allocation is not a coverage conclusion: verify the named insured, policy period, coverages, limits and endorsements against the venue contract, as the COI review brief explains.
On the platforms, coverage follows the engagement model. Instawork states workers' compensation on W-2 shifts and occupational accident insurance on 1099 roles where permitted, and lists insurance for on-shift injuries among what the hourly rate includes. Qwick states workers' compensation for its W-2 professionals and, on its support center, occupational accident insurance that covers professionals on shift and is funded by a $0.38 per hour fee charged to the professional. Whether a certificate naming your organization or the venue is available is not stated on either provider's pages read, and venue contracts usually require one, so ask before the shift.
09 / 11
Replacement handling and no-show coverage
TempGuru coordinates replacement; it does not guarantee it. If a confirmed worker drops, TempGuru coordinates replacement and backfill efforts with the assigned partner agency under applicable state and local laws; same-week backfills and emergencies are best effort, and the accepted written order controls the event-specific process. The staffing backup protocols tool sets out what to prepare in advance.
Instawork publishes safeguards; Qwick's pages read do not address it. Instawork lists worker ratings, on-time and cancellation tracking, GPS clock-ins and paid backup workers for critical shifts, and states you can send an unqualified worker home at no charge for unused time. On a platform the buyer typically owns the decision to post a backup; on an agency order the agency owns the outreach. Put whichever it is in writing.
10 / 11
Onsite coordination and administrative burden
Agency order. TempGuru coordinates the order, scheduling and replacement efforts; the partner agency verifies role experience and sends event-specific instructions; the named client contact checks workers in and approves time; billing is one invoice per city per week, net 30, with a deposit on orders above $1,000 estimated value. No named, dedicated or onsite coordinator is included unless the accepted written order says so, so budget a lead if you want one on site, as the worked example does.
Platform order. Instawork states in-app clock-in, hour review and approval by you, one consolidated invoice, live support and a dedicated account manager for larger programs. Qwick states an account manager for W-2 business partners and invoices in the business account. Posting, rating, roster building and approving hours sit with the buyer's team; the gig economy versus managed staffing guide covers that trade-off and the staffing agency versus platform versus marketplace brief covers the risk side.
11 / 11
Modeling your own comparison
- 1. Fix the event: city, guests, hours, roles, headcount, alcohol, driving, screening, venue insurance requirements.
- 2. Fill TempGuru's side from the city guide's published ranges, then list the separate charges from the written quote.
- 3. Fill each platform's side from its current published terms, dated, with "current quote required" wherever a figure is not published.
- 4. Put all eleven components on one sheet and compare totals, not rates.
- 5. Attach the employer identity and the certificate of insurance to whichever option you choose.
For head-to-head detail, see TempGuru vs Instawork and TempGuru vs Qwick ; for alternatives to a specific platform, the Instawork alternatives for corporate events guide and the gig staffing app alternatives page. If you want TempGuru's side filled in for your city and date, request staffing and you will get the applicable rates and approved charges in writing.
Frequently asked questions
Is a gig staffing app cheaper than an event staffing agency?
Not by the hourly figure alone. A platform quotes worker pay plus a service charge (Instawork's rate pages publish a 20% to 65% markup range; Qwick's current business pages publish no percentage), with taxes, insurance, minimums and cancellation terms attached by its account terms. TempGuru's published city rate is loaded with payroll taxes, workers' compensation, general liability, coordination and markup. Compare all eleven components for your actual roster; the answer depends on the event.
Are gig app workers always 1099 contractors?
No. Instawork offers 1099 and W-2 engagement depending on market and role; Qwick offers both where available and designates some jurisdictions as W-2 only, with its W-2 professionals employed by a Qwick subsidiary. Check the platform's current terms for your market. On a US TempGuru order every worker is a W-2 employee of the assigned partner agency.
What does TempGuru's published rate include?
Worker pay, employer payroll taxes (FICA, FUTA, SUTA), workers' compensation, general liability, TempGuru coordination and the partner agency's markup, with a four-hour minimum per shift. Overtime and holiday premiums, rush charges, parking, travel, uniforms, client-required background checks, minimum-shift charges, gratuities and cancellation fees can be separate and are identified in the written quote.
Can I get a certificate of insurance from a gig platform?
Ask the platform. Instawork states insurance for on-shift injuries in the rate and workers' compensation on W-2 shifts; Qwick states workers' compensation for W-2 professionals and occupational accident insurance for professionals on shift; neither provider's pages read state whether a certificate naming your organization is provided. On an accepted TempGuru order, the employing partner agency provides insurance evidence and a certificate on request.
Does either model guarantee a replacement if someone does not show?
TempGuru coordinates best-effort replacement with the partner agency and publishes no fill rate. Instawork publishes paid backup workers for critical shifts and cancellation tracking; Qwick's pages read did not address it. Whatever the provider, get the replacement process in writing, with who owns the outreach and what "covered" means.